A gamification plugin for esoTalk

1. 5 years ago
    Edited 5 years ago by candyman

First: I'm not a developer so I can help with suggestions and ideas only.

Second: I like the clean&fast style of esoTalk and I think that adding too many plugins could ruin it.

Third: anyway I think that a gamification plugin could be interesting for esoTalk and for Flarum too.

If you have some time, give a look at VanillaForums.org , a very nice piece of software which has reactions, badges and ranks (in the form of icons) that motivate the users to post.

For example: every year the user gains a "year medal" that appear in his profile or receives a "like medal" if his posts are liked by the people and wins an "avatar prize" if he loads an image on his profile.
    There are many gamification plugins (YAGA , Peregrine Badges ) that add these functionality.

Giving users badges based on statistics and engagement is addictive for a community: imagine a plugin that allow the administrator to create and award custom badges for special events and recognitions. For example: an user creates a logo for the community and the admin can give him a "thanks medal": this create affection.

Imagine Award Ranks which can confer different (configurable) permissions based on community perception and participation too.

I think that it could be very interesting a plugin like this, in the respect of esoTalk philosophy, of course.

2. In regards of your third suggestion: I have been thinking about this idea myself. I really like the concept. Might give it a go and try to develop a plugin for it but as I am not a developer either I might need some help :) We all could collaborate on the plugin by sharing code parts on GitHub.

3. Edited 5 years ago by candyman

Glad to hear this but, looking at your plugins, I'm sure you are a developer!
    I'm not 'cause I know little HTML and no PHP :(

Anyway I can help with feedback, ideas, and translations.